My Continental Club Staycation


It was my birthday recently and I decided I will celebrate it outside my home, in a relaxing place where the mattress is one of the softest, cleanliness is gospel, food is delicious and the service is impeccable. So, I  booked the family to stay at Marco Polo Ortigas Hotel.

Upon entry, those who are booked in any of their continental rooms are checked-in at the 44th floor (not at the normal 24th floor). There, you are given personalized and snappy attention while seated comfortably in a cushioned seat. Nice! The Continental benefits such as free stay at the Continental Club room,  Afternoon Tea at 2:30pm and Cocktails at 530pm, were explained. Didn’t expect that! Yes!

The room did not disappoint either, it was much more spacious than the normal deluxe room with its own dinette. It gave the four (4) of us enough room to move around and finally (!) there are enough chairs to accommodate us.

My boys like to dine at Cucina, one of Marco Polo Ortigas Hotel’s restaurants. With their enormous appetites, they find Cucina’s selection perfectly satisfying and varied.  The have a Japanese counter with the sushis and sashimis, a Chinese noodle counter for hot soups, a seafood station (crabs, mussels and tuna), a Filipino, Italian and an Indian corner. Of course, the dessert area is always one of my favorites but I do love, love their Pastry section. It was huge! The sight and smell of these freshly baked breads is enough to make me forget my keto diet!

After pigging out, we rested for awhile before the boys moved on to their fully-equipped gym for a work-out and then a swim afterwards to cool-off.  Since I am not the sporty type, I headed to The Flow Spa to treat myself to their signature massage.  Gel, the masseuse, who attended to me managed to smooth out my aching shoulders and lower back. It was blissful.

As a birthday treat, MPO team sent to my room a birthday cake, 3 balloons and the cutest white teddy bear.  You guys are so sweet! Thank you very much for the treats, the quick response to our requests and the follow-up calls.

 

Marco Polo Ortigas Hotel, voted 5 Star Hotel by the Global Forbes Travel Guide, is located along Meralco Ave, Ortigas Center, Pasig City.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

